2024 Panini Rising Stars roster revealed

Published February 7, 2024, 10:40 AMOfficial release

The NBA’s annual showcase of premier young talent – the 2024 Panini Rising Stars – is set for Feb. 17 (PHT time) at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in Indianapolis as part of NBA All-Star 2024.

A player draft by honorary coaches Pau Gasol, Tamika Catchings and Jalen Rose was held with Victor Wembanyama going first overall to Team Pau.

Detlef Schrempf will coach the team of NBA G League players.

Team Pau

  • Victor Wembanyama (Rookie, San Antonio Spurs)
  • Brandon Miller (Rookie, Charlotte Hornets)
  • Brandin Podziemski (Rookie, Golden State Warriors)
  • Jaime Jaquez. Jr. (Rookie, Miami Heat)
  • Jabari Smith Jr. (Sophomore, Houston Rockets)
  • Cason Wallace (Rookie, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Bilal Coulibaly (Rookie, Washington Wizards)

Team Tamika

  • Paolo Banchero (Sophomore, Orlando Magic)
  • Jaden Ivey (Sophomore, Detroit Pistons)
  • Jalen Duren (Sophomore, Detroit Pistons)
  • Keegan Murray (Sophomore, Sacramento Kings)
  • Scoot Henderson (Rookie, Portland Trail Blazers)
  • Keyonte George (Rookie, Utah Jazz)
  • Dyson Daniels (Sophomore, New Orleans Pelicans)

Team Jalen

  • Chet Holmgren (Rookie, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Jalen Williams (Sophomore, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  • Bennedict Mathurin (Sophomore, Indiana Pacers)
  • Shaedon Sharpe (Sophomore, Portland Trail Blazers)
  • Dereck Lively II (Rookie, Dallas Mavericks)
  • Jordan Hawkins (Rookie, New Orleans Pelicans)
  • Walker Kessler (Sophomore, Utah Jazz)

Team Detlef

  • Izan Almansa (G League Ignite)
  • Matas Buzelis (G League Ignite)
  • Ron Holland (G League Ignite)
  • Mac McClung (Osceola Magic)
  • Tyler Smith (G League Ignite)
  • Oscar Tshiebwe (Indiana Mad Ants)*
  • Alondes Williams (Sioux Falls Skyforce)

*Two-Way Player

How it works

For the third straight season, the showcase will feature a three-game mini-tournament among four teams comprised of NBA rookies, sophomores and NBA G League Players.

Gasol (Team Pau), Catchings (Team Tamika) and Rose (Team Jalen) selected their teams through the Rising Stars Draft. Schrempf (Team Detlef) will coach the team of NBA G League players.

All three games in the mini-tournament will be played to a Final Target Score, which means each game will end on a made basket or free throw rather than time expiring.

The two semifinal games – Game 1 and Game 2 – will be played to a Final Target Score of 40. The final game, featuring the winners, will be played to a Final Target Score of 25 to determine the tournament champion.

Game 1: Team A vs. Team B

Game 2: Team C vs. Team D

Game 3: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2

The coaches

A six-time NBA All-Star and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, Gasol will return as one of the four honorary head coaches after leading his team to the Rising Stars championship last year. Joining Gasol as honorary head coaches are Catchings, Rose and Schrempf.

Catchings, an Indiana Fever legend and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, led the Fever to the 2012 WNBA championship.

Rose helped the Pacers reach the 2000 NBA Finals and was the Kia NBA Most Improved Player that season.

Schrempf, a three-time NBA All-Star, won back-to-back Kia NBA Sixth Man Awards with the Pacers in the 1990-91 and 1991-92 seasons.

How players were selected

In selecting the NBA players for Panini Rising Stars, each NBA team submitted one ballot per coaching staff. Each coaching staff selected four frontcourt players, four guards and two additional players at either position, in order of preference, for the rookie ballot and the sophomore ballot.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for any player on their team.

The NBA participants for Panini Rising Stars were determined by the total points each player received from the ballots.

Points were awarded based on where a player was ranked on each ballot. The player pool includes one more rookie than sophomore based on total points received.

The 2024 NBA All-Star Weekend in Indiana will air from February 17-19 on NBA TV Philippines, One Sports, and the Pilipinas Live app.